Public holidays celebrated in Spain include a mix of religious (Roman Catholic), national and regional observances. Each municipality is allowed to have a maximum of 14 public holidays per year; a maximum of nine of these are chosen by the national government and at least two are chosen locally, including patronal festivals.

If one of the "national holidays" happens to fall on a Sunday the regional governments — the autonomous communities of Spain — can choose an alternate holiday or they can allow local authorities to choose. In practice, except for holidays falling on a Sunday, the regional governments can choose up to three holidays per year; or they can choose fewer to allow for more options at the local level.

puente (bridge) is sometimes made between weekends and holidays that fall on Tuesday or Thursday. The puente will then create a long weekend.

Since 2010, Ceuta and Melilla, both autonomous cities of Spain, have declared the Muslim holiday of Eid al-Adha or Feast of the Sacrifice, as an official public holiday. It was the first time a non-Christian religious festival has been officially celebrated in Spain since the Reconquista.

Spain Bank Holidays

Discover upcoming bank holiday dates for Spain and start planning to make the most of your time off. Scroll down to select a year 

Looking to improve the way you handle leave management? Our employee leave planner is just the solution for you!

Whether you are a small business or a large enterprise, we can help you. We pride ourselves on offering the same service to small businesses as we do to big enterprises. If you'd like to talk to us just drop us an email for a chat.


Lifetime sounds too long? No problem, head to our monthly pricing page for at least 50% saving compared to our competitors!

Spanish Public holidays by year